Kind Shock KSi900r Dropper Seatpost 3yr Review

KSi900r on my Nomad...

KSi900r on my Nomad…

What is it?

The KSi900r is a 5″ hydraulically adjustable height seatpost with a cable activated remote lever on the bar built by Kind Shock. The post I have is a 30.9mm model. I don’t have an exact weight, but it’s in the 500g-600g range.  My post has been replaced by newer models.

All the way up...

All the way up…

How was it tested?

This seatpost has lived exclusively on my Santa Cruz Nomad mountain bike for the last 3 years of year round riding.

You can read my 1yr Review here.

Cable routing...

Cable routing…

Installation

The post came with the cable and housing installed so all I had to do was slide the post into the frame, attach the lever to the bar and zip tie the cable to the frame. Dead easy.

Since the cable attaches at the top of the post you have to make allowance for the cable to move with the saddle height. Not a huge deal, but if you aren’t careful the cable can get caught on the rear tire or on a part of the frame. A strategically placed ziptie will avoid any problems.

The saddle clamp is easy to use and secure once tightened properly.

All the way down...

All the way down…

Performance

This post works great. You can adjust the position to any height within the 5″ range. I find all the way down is perfect for bombing downhill as the saddle is completely out of my way. All the way up puts me in an efficient climbing position and somewhere in the middle is where I ride when the terrain is uncertain or changes between steep ups and steep downs quickly.

The up and down action is smooth and the post comes up fast enough to adjust to quick terrain changes without any risk to my dangly bits.

The remote bar lever works without compliant and has survived a few gnarly crashes that have ground metal off it. I liked the omni-directional activation of the Crank Brothers Joplin remote lever better, but not enough to bother retrofitting that lever to this bike. I’ve used this lever on both sides of the bar it swaps fine.

Two features I like about this seatpost are:

  1. minimal side to side play with the saddle
  2. you can pick up the bike by the saddle with the post at any height

Initially I found the 5″ adjustment range was a tad too much for my XL Nomad, but I made peace with it and now that I am on a Large Nomad it’s perfect.

Remote lever...

Remote lever…

Maintenance

These adjustable seatposts have a tough life. They take a pounding and get covered in dust and mud. Especially given we ride year round in coastal BC and it’s frequently wet. I’m happy to report that in 3yrs this post has not needed any internal servicing at all.

I have replaced the cable twice and recently replaced the housing for the first time. Both tasks take a few minutes with common bike tools.

When it was new there was some frequent stiction in the seal/shaft interface that benefited from some light chain oil. As the post has aged that hasn’t been required much anymore – presumably due to wear.

Overall I feel like 3yrs is the service life I want from an adjustable height post. Anything more than that is gravy. So far so good. This post owes me nothing at this point.

Seat clamp...

Seat clamp…

Value

I don’t recall exactly what I paid for this post, but I think it was ~$250CDN including shipping. That was a good deal at the time and is still a great price for a post like this. I would never go back to a rigid post on my trail bike. The benefits of an adjustable post are too great and now that they are proving so hassle free the downsides are minimal. I’m happy to pay $300-$400 for a quality post as long as it lasts 3yrs+ and is low maintenance.

Bar setup...

Bar setup…

Would I Buy Another?

I would definitely buy another Kind Shock product when I need to get another seatpost. Hopefully that won’t be for a few more years though! 😉

2 thoughts on “Kind Shock KSi900r Dropper Seatpost 3yr Review

  1. Hey Vic,

    Sounds like you have had a better time with your post than I have. I have sent mine back 3 or 4 times and when I received it back from Norco this last time it does not come all the way up…I have to grab it with my thighs and pull it up the last 1/2 inch or so….very frustrating.

    It’s great to hear someone having good luck with this post…I think mine was just made on a Friday..lol. MIne is soon to be replaced with a Thomson if all things work out though. 🙂

  2. Sharon, my friend Kurt and I have all had pretty good luck with Crank Brothers Joplin seatposts and if you look online people will generally say they break all the time.

    It’s either luck of the draw or we aren’t as tough on them.

Leave a Reply

