Partridge Hills – New Trail!

Click for larger interactive map...

Click for larger interactive map…

I guided my buddy Steve around Partridge Hills last week in return for him showing me around Harbourview out in Sooke. I warned him that getting lost was just part of the P-Hills experience, but in fact we pretty much stayed on trails I knew and then discovered on really long and very sweet new trail down back to the start. Luckily I had the GPS running so I was able to record it and I’ll ride with my GPS at Partridge Hills in the future so I can stay on track. You can download a GPX file here if you want to check out the ride we did.

Steve on his Prime...

Steve on his Prime…

Steve had recently replaced his Knolly Delerium with a Banshee Prime. So I got to check out his fine new ride as he showed me how it was done.

Hard to beat the scenery in coastal BC...

Hard to beat the scenery in coastal BC…

I’ve used my smartphone to navigate at P-Hills in the past and it worked, but a GPS mounted to the handlebars is so much better since you can quickly scan the screen as you ride with fewer interruptions to pull the phone out of the pack. I won’t be riding here without a GPS again.

Banshee Prime 29er...

Banshee Prime 29er…

The trails were in great shape. Just starting to get wet and muddy, but not fully into winter mode yet. The fallen leaves obscured most of the trails which made for very pretty if slightly confusing riding. It’s still early enough in the fall that we got an afterwork mountain bike ride done without resorting to bike lights [we had them in our packs just in case].

Just enough light to get back to the car...

Just enough light to get back to the car…

Thanks for the ride Steve! It was great to see you again and check out your shiny new bike! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Partridge Hills – New Trail!

  1. Awesome to see another Prime rider out there…Banshee is taking over!

Leave a Reply

