Hope Pro 2 Hub QR to 10mm RWS Conversion

DT Swiss RWS 10mm axle...

DT Swiss RWS 10mm axle…

I have been using a DT Swiss RWS 9mm axle on the front of my 29er MTBs to help stiffen up the front end on QR style forks. So far it’s been pleasant to use. I hesitate to quantify the comparative stiffness of a standard QR vs. this system. It should be stiffer and it feels stiffer, but it’s within the placebo effect range so it’s not something I’d bet my cat on!  In any case having enjoyed the way they operate I decided to spruce up the back end of my Santa Cruz Nomad with a DT Swiss RWS 10mm axle. My old DT Swiss QR skewer was pretty beat up and the occasional bit of bike bling is a good way to appease the Bike Gods that have been so kind to me! 😉

Disc side of my Hope Pro 2 rear hub...

Disc side of my Hope Pro 2 rear hub…

My Nomad runs a set of Hope Pro 2 hubs which feature adapters that allow them to be converted to most common hub standards. So I ordered the appropriate 10mm thru axle end caps and a 10mm x 135mm RWS axle from DT Swiss.

The tools I used...

The tools I used…

I was Googling for a video or blog post showing a Hope Pro 2 QR to 10mm x 135mm thru axle conversion, but didn’t find one so I’m posting this so the next biker does find one.

Stuff you’ll need:

  • DT Swiss 10mm x 135mm axle
  • Hope Pro 2 10mm x 135mm hub end caps
  • pliers
  • chain whip
  • cassette lock ring tool and wrench to turn it
  • cold beer
  • grease
  • paper towel
  • music
Driveside 9mm QR end cap...

Driveside 9mm QR end cap…

First pull the wheel from your bike and remove the cassette.

Pull off end caps...

Pull off end caps…

Pull out both QR end caps with some pliers. They are just a medium friction fit and should come out easily.

Comparison shot...

Comparison shot…

Put aside the QR and the old end caps. Grab your 10mm end caps and RWS axle.

10mm disc side end cap...

10mm disc side end cap…

You can wipe out any dirt and lightly grease the ends of your hub. Then the new 10mm end caps will pop right in by hand. The black is the disc side cap and silver is the driveside cap.

Driveside 10mm cap...

Driveside 10mm cap…

Note the slightly chewed up aluminum cassette splines.

Multi-cog carriers...

Multi-cog carriers…

Nothing too devastating, but that’s why I picked a cassette where the main cogs were grouped on to 3 & 5 cog carriers to spread the pedalling force from my massive thunder chicken legs. 😉

Install your cassette...

Install your cassette…

Since you’ve got the wheel out and the cassette off you might as well check for wear and tear. If all is good lock down your cassette.

DT Swiss 10mm RWS axle installed in hub...

DT Swiss 10mm RWS axle installed in hub…

The 10mm DT Swiss RWSaxle just slides in and you hand tighten the driveside nut.

RWS axle in place...

RWS axle in place…

At this point you can have a beer for your efforts.

Wheel back in the Nomad...

Wheel back in the Nomad…

The wheel installs like normal. To tighten the RWS axle you hold the driveside nut and spin the lever until it’s tight. The lever is a ratchet and will only spin in the clockwise direction to tighten. When you want to open it you need to pull it outward and then you can spin it counter-clockwise.

Driveside nut...

Driveside nut…

I took it out for a ride at it worked fine. I’d tell you the back end of the Nomad was stiffer, but that could well just be the new bike part placebo effect talking! 😉

Close up...

Close up…

3 thoughts on “Hope Pro 2 Hub QR to 10mm RWS Conversion

  1. I have what I think are the same skewers for my road bike. Like you said, it’s impossible for a normal rider to quantify, but they sure feel better than standard QR ones.

  2. So, this was a little while ago now. Was it worth the change? And how did the DT Swiss lever hold up, any problems?

    • Like Forrest notes below it’s hard to quantify the benefit from the saddle. That said the rear wheel feels very secure and has had no issues after many many hard rides.

      I’d spend the money again to make this change if I was starting over.

Leave a Reply

