Krampus Trail Recon

Krampus in the forest...

Krampus in the forest…

Winter on Vancouver Island is wet. Not the crazy PNW rain that lots of folks think we get, but for sure it’s damp compared to our bone dry summers. Since 4 months of the year are cool and wet my desire to camp/tour at that time is pretty low. So I decided to strip the extra water hauling capacity off my Surly Krampus and convert it back to a plain old mountain bike for the winter.

Some minimal fenders...

Some minimal fenders…

I got rid of the stem and downtube mounted bottle cages and added some minimal fenders to keep splashed mud off me and my Brooks saddle. The Rohloff hub and rigid frame means a very low maintenance bike for those really wet days.

Time for some recon...

Time for some recon…

I figured there was no time like the present so I headed over to Partridge Hills to do some trail recon.

Lowering the saddle...

Lowering the saddle…

I’ve got some trails at Partridge Hills I want to lock down with GPS so I can build some sweet loops I can reliably find. I’ve found all the connector trails I need at one time or other, but it’s kind of a random thing so I’m riding with my GPS to get my navigation down.

Taking a break...

Taking a break…

I got in a good ride and found one of the trails I was looking for. I need to go back now and ride the opposite way to form a loop. I won’t bother sharing the GPS track yet since it’s not a complete quality ride at this point.

A beautiful time to live on the island...

A beautiful time to live on the island…

I was solo for this ride and the forest was very quiet and so beautiful with a carpet of fallen leaves. I’m very lucky to have trails like this close to home and almost never have to share them with anyone. 🙂

Getting dirty...

Getting dirty…

What I love even more is a 12 month a year mountain bike season! So great!

3 thoughts on “Krampus Trail Recon

  1. There are a few good loops there, if you ever want to be shown around just lemme know. We are about to lose one of the awesome lookouts at Partridge …so gotta get up there and check it out while we can.

  2. I’m up for a ride just about anytime with a couple days notice. I’ve got lights for night riding. The only time I don’t really want to ride is in persistent rain, but that’s infrequent enough that it’s not a major impediment to getting out on the trails.

    Why are we losing a P-Hills lookout?

    • Hey Vik, I need to invest in another light this year…did not really enjoy night riding much last year.

      The lookout that looks up the inlet is private property and someone is building a house on it. Too bad it’s my favourite of the two.

Leave a Reply

