Summer at Hartland Again…

Amazing November riding...

Amazing November riding…

Last Monday was a holiday for Remembrance Day. After the 11:11am observance of silence we took advantage of the free afternoon with a ride at the Hartland Bike Park. To our complete surprise the place was nearly summer dry. The last couple rides here have been slick and wet in full winter mode. That can be fun in a challenging way, but the extra traction of dry conditions is something I don’t mind seeing again.

Sean's new to him Heckler...

Sean’s new to him Heckler…

Sean’s lady bought a new Santa Cruz Bronson which meant her old Heckler became his if he wanted it. We discussed the merits of upgrading an old bike vs. selling it and buying something new or used, but setup the way he wanted it. That’s always a tough decision. My suggestion was to ride the Heckler as is since it was running fine and save any upgrade $$ for a new bike at a later date.

Stuff never looks as steep in the pictures as it does in real life...

Stuff never looks as steep in the pictures as it does in real life…

I carried my DSLR the whole ride and we only stopped for pictures once and it was fairly lame. More to at least have take a few pics than because the moment demanded documentation due to its innate awesomeness. Having said that I don’t regret the decision to give up on the point and shoot for my BC forest rides. Every picture with the DSLR is so much better that it’s worth it and the more I carry a heavy backpack the less I notice it during the ride.

Hopefully next time I am riding with guys that put the hurt on me and I leave the DSLR at home I will find some extra snap in my legs. Hopefully…. 😉

IMG_7127

Cranking…

All in all it’s been an amazing year of riding on the Island and in other parts of BC. The Weather Gods seem to be cooperating with us at every turn and the terrain is so much fun to ride. I’m pretty much ready to award 2013 the best year of MTBing so far since we moved to Vancouver Island. =)

Leave a Reply

