Sedona: Canyon of Fools Loop

Dave demonstrating a new line for us...

Dave demonstrating a new line for us…

As I write this I am sitting in my office in Victoria with a space heater roaring trying to keep my fingers warm enough to type. Sadly our Sedona adventure is in the books, but the last ride didn’t get posted before we left so here it is.

Click for larger interactive map and GPS track...

Click for larger interactive map and GPS track…

The sun was shining and the temperature was perfect for our last ride. We headed out on the now very familiar Chuckwagon Trail and then onto Mescal Trail where our local guides took us on an unmarked detour down Canyon of Fools.

The crew taking a break...

The crew taking a break…

Canyon of Fools is the dirt equivalent of a small roller coaster down a narrow dry creek bed with wild high banked turns off each side. Speed is your friend if you want to get the most from this trail.

The ladies chatting it up while Dave repairs his bike...

The ladies chatting it up while Dave repairs his bike…

It was sad knowing this would be our last ride with Sedona Dirt Hombre Crew, but that’s life so we just enjoyed the day cranking away in the Arizona desert. Thanks to Jen for keeping the pace slow enough that we could survive and always having a big smile on your face even when you were warning us about the epic cliff side climb around the corner. πŸ˜‰

Kurt R & Kaitlyn - not my photo...

Kurt R & Kaitlyn – not my photo…

We passed Kurt R of Kurt’s Going Nuts Blog fameΒ on the trails. The encounter was brief so as my tired synapses fired away I yelled after him “I read your blog!”. Sounding like a crazy person? – check!

How to eat a stale concrete Powerbar...

How to eat a stale concrete Powerbar…

Local legend NOD [aka gNarly Old Dude] demonstrated his peoples’ ancient technique for eating Powerbars that have turned to concrete. NOD is coming up on 70yrs old and still rides nearly every day and lays down the hurt on average riders like me. I just hope I’ll still be rolling on a mountain bike in 25yrs!

As NOD would say “It’s the Apache way!”

Dave waiting for us again...

Dave waiting for us again…

Dave [owner of the Sedona Fat Tire Bike Shop] was a great host during our stay in Sedona. He kept our bikes running, loaned Sharon a replacement shock while she waited for RockShox to send her a new one and was a very patient guide on our group rides. Dave is about twice as fast as Sharon and I so he had to wait a lot. Thanks Dave!

The Fat Tire Bike Shop is hands down the best local bike shop in Sedona. I don’t say that because I am friends with Dave. I am friend’s with Dave because he runs the best bike shop in town! I love dealing with people who are on top of their game.

The gang less NOD...

The gang less NOD…

There are lots of great places to ride in the SW US, but Sedona is special to us because of the great people we know there and the new ones we meet every trip. Mountain biking is less about the shredding for us and more about the laughs we have with our friends out on the trails. In that regard Sedona rocks hard! =)

I got nervous when Dave started staring down a cliff I couldn't walk down safely...

I got nervous when Dave started staring down a cliff I couldn’t walk down safely…

Whoa!

Whoa! Where are you going?

It's much much steeper than it looks in this photo...

It’s much much steeper than it looks in this photo…

I should say one final thank you to our trusty Honda CRV that eats up the miles on these long road trips. Hauls our bikes and enough gear to be dangerous without costing a fortune. AWD to handle the gnarly road conditions when they happen and a big enough interior to let us sleep sort of comfortably when we just can’t drive no more. Thanks little buddy! πŸ™‚

Sharon's shredding wagon...

Sharon’s shredding wagon…

One thought on “Sedona: Canyon of Fools Loop

  1. Dave is the man. I can’t wait to get back to Sedona.

Leave a Reply

