New Chains

At least the chain is clean...

At least the chain is clean…

I’m not much for maintaining my drivetrain. I remember to oil my chain once a month or so and it gets wiped down with a rag before and after lubing. That’s the extent of the love it sees from me. Living in the PNW my bike gets quite dirty during the fall & winter when it’s moist out regularly. So I’m quite happy with how well all my bike parts are hanging in there despite the neglect and regular use.

Fresh from my friends at SRAM...

Fresh from my friends at SRAM…

I do two things that definitely help my bike keep rolling:

  1. I don’t hose it down at the bike wash station after a wet ride. I use a damp cloth and/or a plastic brush to clean it at home which keeps the dirty water out and the grease inside the bearings.
  2. I change my chains regularly.
No seriously skip the hose! ;)

No seriously skip the hose! 😉

It’s been about a year since I installed my 10 speed Shimano Zee drivetrain. It has performed flawlessly even though it has been banged around, bumped and covered in crap most of the time. So I figured it was time for a new chain.

Looking at the rusty mess on Sharon’s Nomad [see does use the bike wash station!! :(] I nudged her into getting a new chain as well.

I do measure our chains with a checking tool, but it only reports when wear has gone farther than I would like. Chains are cheap. Buying a new cassette and chain ring is more expensive.

Comparing new and old chains I can see how much the old one has worn and become longer.

Glad I spent the $$ to replace our chains. Now it’s time to start wearing the new chains out again! 😉

The natural state of my mountain bike - dirty!

The natural state of my mountain bike – dirty!

Leave a Reply

