Nomad 30T Ring + New Chain

Bach guard and 30T ring...

Bash guard and 30T ring…

It’s been a year since I overhauled my Santa Cruz Nomad‘s drivetrain. This is the mountain bike that sees the most action by far in my fleet and I’m not just talking summertime rockstar rides. This is a year round workhorse that sees a lot of abuse.

Chewed up...

Chewed up…

The chain was still within tolerance, but the single ring was chewed up pretty good. The cassette looked fine so I decided a new chain and ring were in order.

Race Face 32T ring...

Race Face 32T ring…

One downside to running a single ring setup is that this ring takes all the wear and tear. Given how much riding we do in the wet a year from a chainring is okay by me. Thanks for all the hard work Raceface ring!

Andersen’s Machine 30T BCD 104 chainring…

Andersen’s Machine 30T BCD 104 chainring…

My current low gear of 32T x 36T is great most of the time, but we’ve been climbing some killer hills lately with guys that are very fit who are using wide range gearing. I can almost keep up, but I thought this was a good opportunity to put the 30T ring I got from Andersen’s Machine back on the Nomad. It’s paid for and that might be the little bit extra help I need to keep up with these fast riders.

New SRAM PC1031 chain...

New SRAM PC1031 chain…

I buy whatever is the cheapest SRAM chain that falls to hand when I need to overhaul my bike. 10 speed chains aren’t as cheap as the 8 and 9 speed chains I use, but It’s well worth keeping your bike running well if you ride regularly.

Shimano Zee derailleur...

Shimano Zee derailleur…

My Zee derailleur keeps on trucking with no maintenance. Perfect shifts and a quiet drivetrain are great and the cost is quite modest.

MRP chain guide...

MRP chain guide…

I decided to ditch the MRP chain guide I’ve been using the last year. It’s been perfect so this is more just to try something new than any needed upgrade. I had a Straitline bash guard that I got when my Nomad was brand new that I put back on. I only realized recently that Straitline is a company out in Sidney BC that manufactures its parts right here on Vancouver Island.

A little local pride never hurts. 😉

I’m hopefully that the Zee derailleur’s clutch plus my bashguard is enough to keep the chain in place. We’ll see what happens. If not I’ll put the MRP guide back on.

Bling!!!

Bling!!!

The Kona Wah Wah pedals that have been used on various bikes for years finally wore out. I will track down a rebuild kit and get them rolling again, but in the meantime I decided some gratuitous bling was in order. I love my Nomad lots so a pair of red Spank Spike pedals found their way onto my cranks. They are thin which is handy given how many rocks I have to ride through and the look slick! 🙂

Me and my Nomad last ride...

Me and my Nomad last ride…

Time to wear out some bike parts!

2 thoughts on “Nomad 30T Ring + New Chain

  1. Love your blog! Notice any change in the suspension action.with your shift down to a 30t?

    • @Lars – no I didn’t notice any change going from 32T to 30T in terms of how the VPP behaved under pedalling load.

Leave a Reply

