Frozen Monkey Nuts!

Ignore the fake smiles - we were frozen solid...

Ignore the fake smiles – we were frozen solid…

The Dirt Hombres headed to Maple Mountain on Saturday. It was uncharacteristically cold on Southern Vancouver Island…like really freaking cold. I threw an extra jersey in my bike box and grabbed my full knee/shin pads thinking that would be enough to keep me warm.

I was wrong. Really wrong! 😦

Trying to soak up some heat at the top...

Trying to soak up some heat at the top…

Three things contributed to my cold man bits:

  1. My general philosophy you should start a ride cold and end up warm vs. starting warm and ending up sweating like a pig.
  2. The fact it was much colder at Maple Mountain than anticipated -6 deg C vs. 0 deg C.
  3. Wind on the climb up that sucked out any heat I thought I would generate.

You know you are in trouble when you are climbing at your limit and still cold. No part of the ride is going to be warmer than a 45min uber steep shred to the top of a mountain.

Can anyone feel their toes?

Can anyone feel their toes?

Other people were a bit smarter than me and didn’t just wear shorts and a couple thin jerseys. I did have two secret weapons – a headband to keep my ears warm and an emergency windbreaker. I would have probably just curled up in the forest and died whimpering without them. I’m glad I leave the headband in my bike box 24/7 during the winter and I carry the windbreaker in my pack all year round except the hottest days of summer. This one use has justified them both for a few more years! πŸ˜‰

It doesn't hurt to crash when you can't feel your body - does it?

It doesn’t hurt to crash when you can’t feel your body – does it?

You can find a GPS track, map and other ride details at this post from my last run on Maple Syrup. Having seen everything once before it was easier to charge lines that I had to check out the previous ride. There is still lots to work on though and the more I learn about these features the better flow I can generate through the tech sections.

One of the few sections we stopped and pulled out my crappy camera for...

Evan on one of the few sections we stopped and pulled out my crappy camera…

Now that I have a solid contract again my mind has started to ponder a new camera that’s good for low light action shots and smaller/lighter than a DSLR. I’m tried of coming home with sad P&S shots that I have to use to document the ride, but I hate carrying the DSLR unless I know we’ll stop and session some shit.

The quest for MTB camera nirvana continues… πŸ˜‰

Russ on his new Giant...

Russ on his new Giant…

Got to check out Russ’ new Giant Trance. Sweet bronze all mountain rig. He’s learning the ins and outs of the new bike fast and is ripping it up already. It was fun to try and stay with him on DH sections. I could at least see him most of the time.

Michael "the Heckler" Melo showing us how it's done with only one pivot...

Michael “the Heckler” Melo showing us how it’s done with only one pivot…

Michael’s Heckler continues to evolve. I hear there is talk of carbon rims from Light Bicycle. Sweet! πŸ™‚

Waiting for everyone to catch up...

Waiting for everyone to catch up…

Cold weather on Vancouver Island means awesome trail conditions. This ride was no exception hero dirt all over the place. Very nice!

Almost warm by the end...

Almost warm by the end and no longer jealous of Chris’ jacket…

Towards the end of the ride we did warm up. A combination of hours of riding and the sun heating up the air meant that we could actually feel or fingers and toes.

Evan on a bridge...

Evan on a bridge…

Despite the cold a lot of fun was had and it was a great start to the weekend. Thanks to Russ for getting us headed to Maple Mountain as well as the whole Dirt Hombre Crew for putting in a solid effort.

Ride Hard! Ride Spicy! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Frozen Monkey Nuts!

  1. Pingback: Maple Mountain… | Dirt Hombres!

  2. Hey Vik, really enjoy the post ride write-ups, as well as the rides! Keep up the hard work.

  3. Great to have you aboard Hombre Evan! Thanks for keeping me honest on the climbs… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

