Wolftooth 42T Cog + Shimano Zee Derailleur…

WT 42T cog mounted up...

WT 42T cog mounted up…

I was curious how the Wolftooth 42T GC cog would work – particularly with the shortcage Shimano Zee derailleur on my Santa Cruz Nomad.

I gave it a shot and it works just fine. I’ve got dozens of successfully rides in so far.

Enough capacity to climb up onto the 42T cog...

Enough capacity to climb up onto the 42T cog…

I removed the 15T cog as I use the bigger cogs much more than the smaller ones. I was going to ditch the 13T cog, but it mates with the 11T cog to generate the correct spacing so I left it.

and take up the slack in the small cog...

and take up the slack in the small cog…

What I used:

  • 42T WT GC
  • SRAM PG 1070 cassette
  • SRAM chain PC 1031
  • Shimano Zee derailleur and shifter
  • Race Face 30T NW ring
  • stock B tension screw [works fine]
  • longer B tension screw that came with cog [works a bit better]
Wolftooth 42T GC cog before install...

Wolftooth 42T GC cog before install…

The shifting is not as good as either a stock 10 spd or stock 11 speed setup, but it’s just fine. If you are a really picky shifting snob you may find it too clunky for your tastes, but if you are just happy that it shifts up and down reliably you’ll enjoy it.

Gratuitous SC Nomad shot...

Gratuitous SC Nomad shot…

Since I installed my 42T WT cog a few months ago they have come out with a couple new options:

  • 40T cog for those that want a smaller jump at the low end
  • 16T cog to allow for better shifting down in the smaller cogs

I haven’t tried either of these.

One thought on “Wolftooth 42T Cog + Shimano Zee Derailleur…

  1. I’ve thought about the possibilities using big cogs like this. I like that it seems to make a single ring up front that much more viable by not sacrificing a really low gear.

    It’s pretty astonishing how the big cog makes your brake rotor disappear.

Leave a Reply

