Killing Trout…

A few Spruce Lake rainbow trout...

A few Spruce Lake rainbow trout…

I’ve been learning how to fly fish lately. Not the easiest thing to do for sure, but it’s a lot of fun and complimentary to my biking obsession. Not only can you bike to a fly fishing spot, but when you are tired and injured from mountain biking fly fishing provides a way to get out without aggravating the situation.

Tools of the trade...

Tools of the trade…

I’m still learning how to cast worth a damn. I’m making it harder by heading out in my kayak and fishing sitting down. šŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Killing Trout…

  1. I recently took up fly fishing as well. Let’s just say “I feel your pain” re the casting learning curve. šŸ™‚

    Good luck!

  2. I have to resist the temptation to grab a spinning rod and effortlessly cast 3 times as far as my fly rod.

    Best comment from a non-fishing friend who was camping with me at Spruce Lake – “…you look really good right until the last bit…then it all goes to shit…”

    So true… šŸ˜¦

  3. As a fly fisher who is now much more capable than when I started, the “everything looks great until the last bit” syndrome when fly casting is often caused by trying to give your fly an extra oomph on the final false cast during the forward stroke. This causes your previously neat loops of line to collapse and your cast to disintegrate into a mess of tangles line and leader.

    When I was having a problem with this, I learned to use one less false cast than I really thought was needed and lay the line down without trying to throw the line with the forward cast. The load you put in the rod on the backcast is really what gives your line the power to shoot forward.

    Good luck with your new hobby. It’s great fun.

  4. Had a casting breakthrough tonight and I’m shooting line each time now. Funny thing is it feels easier than all the attempts that ended up in a pile of line at the end of my rod.

    Now to keep practicing to lock that technique down. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

