Fox Float 34 Krampus Mods

Knardly clearance...

Knardly clearance after…

The Surly Knard tires on my Krampus are large and when I pumped them up for a ride into town I wasn’t happy with the clearance left on the underside of the fork brace. So I hit the fork with a dremel tool. The end result is shown above.

Clearance in unmodified fork...

Clearance in unmodified fork…

I went slowly only removing a small amount of material at a time. With my efforts focused on the area right above the centre of the tire where clearance was smallest.

Dremeled area...

Dremeled area…

The whole process took about 15mins. There is a ton of material left in the fork brace so I’ve got no concerns it has been weakened. I may even go back and create more clearance, but I am going to ride the bike as is for now and see what I think.

Clearance from rear...

Clearance from rear…

Fox Float 34 Krampus-ified! 😉

Another front shot...

Another front shot…

Needs a little black paint.

Backyard workshop...

Backyard workshop…

Wheel installed and ready to roll.

The Big Green Machine...

The Big Green Machine…

3 thoughts on “Fox Float 34 Krampus Mods

  1. Vik: Selle Anatomica holiday sale is on again if you want to give subscribers a heads up. Selle Anatomica – Through the end of the year, pay $99 for any saddle

    |   | |   | |   |   |   |   |   | | Selle Anatomica – Through the end of the year, pay $99 f…Selle Anatomica makes the world’s most comfortable leather bicycle saddles carved out of premium American leather. You will feel the difference. | | | | View on selleanatomica.com | Preview by Yahoo | | | |   |

  2. Fox fork and Knards, the way it was meant to be!

  3. Waiting for my EC44 Lower cup to arrive so I can do the same!

Leave a Reply

