Freeze that Shoe Goo!

I love this shit!

I love this shit!

I love me some Shoe Goo, Seam Seal and all the other similar flexible adhesive products that so easily repair my outdoors gear. One thing I didn’t like was that my tubes would glue the lids shut and start to harden so I never got a full tube worth of adhesive out before I had to throw it away. I started buying smaller and less cost effective [by volume] containers to mitigate this problem.

Then I read a tip online [sorry I forgot the source] that you can freeze Shoe Goo to stop it from curing between uses. I’ve been doing that for a few months now and it’s working great. I’ll get a full tube’s worth of product out of each container and I can buy the larger tubes so I save on a per unit basis.

I’m fixing a wetsuit as I type this by Shoe Gooing some velcro back on. šŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Freeze that Shoe Goo!

  1. When the lids “glue” themselves after use I just take a knife and cut into the tube itself and squeeze. I then let some of it ooze out to harden and do the same again somewhere else on the tube the next time I need some.

    • @Wayne – that was my stragety as well, but the area around each puncture would cure and I would lose a good chunk of product that hardened up….plus it was a messy pain to deal with since the puncture leaked for a while until it sealed.

      By freezing the tube you can use all the product and it can all come out via the lid.

  2. Awesome. You can also do this with cyanoacrylate adhesives in the fridge. A side benefit is that you get more working time and so you can do a tidier job.

  3. I strongly suggest you try some Freesole. I find it to be totally better than Shoe Goo in every way. The hard part can be finding it. It’s urethane, I think, and different from Shoe Goo, so it’s not just a branding difference. I’ve fixed more than just shoes with it and once used, it’s almost always a permanent repair.

    I also keep it in the freezer, because it cures almost instantly on opening. I make an effort when I close it to let it ooze back down in the tube so it’s nowhere near the neck and cap, and try to put it standing up in the freezer. If I forget and the cap glues itself on, I just cut into the tube as Wayne suggested.

Leave a Reply

