The day of the derailleurs!

Derailleur hanger #1...

Derailleur hanger #1…

I haven’t had a derailleur problem in over 15yrs+ so it came as a bit of a shock to damage two of them in 50m of trail. First up John tweaked his hanger and derailleur after a small crash. We stopped and he replaced the hanger with a spare he had and bent his derailleur back into shape.

It was a beautiful day So chilling out in the sunshine while he fixed his machine was no big deal.

50m later....WTF?

50m later….WTF?

Literally 50m down the trail I rode over a large flat rock that flipped up and pushed my derailleur into my spokes. Ripped the hanger off and wrapped the chain around the back of the cassette. Hanger destroyed, derailleur bent, but thankfully spokes/wheel not damaged. The Bike Gods had some mercy. 😉

Working on the Nomad...

Working on the Nomad…

The good news is I had a spare derailleur hanger in my pack. The bad news is it was for my Pivot Mach 6 not the Nomad! 😉 We were at the top of the mountain I just pulled the chain and derailleur off and I coasted down to truck.

This is the first major mechanical I have ever had on the Nomad that shut down a ride so I can’t really complain. I’ll be installing a new derailleur, chain and a new-ish crank from Sharon’s Pivot [she put a new crank on it and gave me the take off.].

I’ll put the Nomad away for the summer riding season and bring it back stronger than ever next fall.

Better this hanger than my frame...

Better this hanger than my frame…

2 thoughts on “The day of the derailleurs!

  1. Rohloff for touring. You’ll never go back.

  2. I have a Rohloff on my touring bike.

    It’s heavy though. I’m thinking maybe single speed for bikepacking. You get light and robust in one package at low cost.

Leave a Reply

