Trail King Love…

Can you tell what my favourite tire is? ;)

Can you tell what my favourite tire is? πŸ˜‰

I’m not afraid to try new rubber, but over the years I have not found a better tire for South Shore Coastal BC riding than the Continental Trail King in 2.4″ width. They grip well, corner predictably, roll fast, last a long time, don’t get damaged by sharp rocks and are reasonably priced. I love the size when conditions are marginal [ie. winter].

The only thing I don’t love is that they are about 25% heavier than other tire options. Not a deal breaker really given the rest of what they offer.

Now Continental make me a 29+ version! πŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “Trail King Love…

  1. Vik

    Are the 27.5 x 2.4 Trail Kings as large as they are in 26 versions?

    When I had a 26er I know the TK 2.4 were the only tires I ran in front because I liked they extra diameter. It was quite a bit over anything else.

    Do you know if that’s the case with the tire in 27.5 (that is, larger in diameter than say a Minion/Hans Dampf/Magic Mary)?

    Thanks
    Jon

  2. @Jon – yes the 27.5 x 2.4″ TKs are big tires like the 26er version. I haven’t measured them accurately, but they look similar to the naked eye.

    • Vik
      I know you’ve tried the Schwalbe Hans Dampf 2.35. Would you say the TK 2.4 are taller than those?
      Jon

  3. The TK’s are the bigger tire. Sharon is away riding next week and then I’m away riding the week after so I can measure them in 2 weeks if you remind me?

  4. Hi Vik,

    Just reminding you about the TK 2.4 height measurement.

    Thanks
    Jon

  5. @Jon – 27.75″ for the 650B x 2.4″ TK. That’s not measured crazy accurately so don’t hold me to +/- 0.01″ πŸ˜‰

  6. Vik,

    I would have thought taller than that. That’s about 705mm.
    I’m getting that with my Minions and taller with my Magic Marys (707mm) and Mavic 2.4 (711mm).

  7. I doubled checked and that is approximately accurate. 650B x 2.35″ Hans Damfs measure closer to 27.5″ on my bike.

Leave a Reply

